Skip to content

Fidelia vs SumUp Local loyalty: free vs paid

SumUp's loyalty programme is free from the SumUp dashboard: customers download the SumUp Local app and add their bank card, and points or stamps credit at each payment. Fidelia costs €29 or €59 a month, adds a Wallet card with no app, and works next to any till.

By The Fidelia team

Written by Fidelia. We compare published plans like for like and link each vendor's own page with the date we checked it. Spot something out of date? Write to hello@fidelia.se.

In short: SumUp’s loyalty programme costs nothing and credits points or stamps automatically when a customer pays with the bank card they registered in the SumUp Local app. Fidelia costs €29 or €59 a month, but the customer needs no app, any payment method earns a stamp, and you do not depend on a payment provider. Pick SumUp if it is already your payment provider and free matters most.

How do the plans line up?

Fidelia prices per month excl. VAT, as published on 25 October 2026.

—FideliaSumUp Local
PriceEssential €29, Pro €59Free
Where customers keep the cardApple Wallet and Google Wallet, no appSumUp Local app
How a stamp is earnedStaff scan the customer's card, any payment methodAutomatically, when the registered bank card pays
Points or stampsStamps (Essential); points, cashback, prepaid, membership (Pro)Points or stamps, for purchases, visits or custom actions
Notification on each earnPro €59, push to the Wallet cardYes
Birthday, new-member and win-back messagesNoYes
Push notifications of your ownPro €59Not stated on their site
E-mails to customersPro €59, 2.000 a monthNot stated on their site
Location reminders (geolocation)Pro €59Not stated on their site
StatsFull stats and CSV export (Pro)Daily to monthly stats
Works with any tillYesNot stated on their site
Setup feeNoneNot stated on their site
Free trial14 days of ProNot applicable, the programme is free
QR counter standFirst one included and deliveredNot stated on their site

Where is Fidelia stronger?

  • No app for customers. A QR scan puts the card in Wallet; SumUp Local customers have to download an app and register a bank card.
  • Any payment method counts. Cash, Bancontact, another terminal: staff scan the card and the stamp is given.
  • Independent of your payment provider. Change terminal and the loyalty card stays.
  • Card types and VIP levels. Pro adds points, cashback, prepaid, packs, membership cards and up to three VIP levels.
  • Your own campaigns. Push to the Wallet card, e-mails from your shop’s own address, and location reminders in Pro.
  • The QR stand is part of the plan. Your first A5 counter stand is delivered with your card.

Where is SumUp Local stronger?

  • It is free. No monthly fee for the programme itself.
  • Automatic crediting. Customers do nothing at the till; the payment credits the points or stamps.
  • Birthday, new-member and win-back messages are listed. Fidelia has no birthday rewards yet.
  • Reach. SumUp cites 2.8 million customers in its network, its own figure.
  • One dashboard if you already use SumUp for payments.

Who should pick SumUp Local?

SumUp Local suits a shop that already takes payments with SumUp, wants a no-cost start, and whose customers will install the SumUp Local app and link a bank card.

Who should pick Fidelia?

Fidelia suits shops that take cash or use several terminals, that want to message their customers themselves, or whose customers will not install another app. See our pricing for every plan.

How do you switch from SumUp Local to Fidelia?

  1. Create your Fidelia card with the same reward and start the 14-day Pro trial.
  2. Welcome returning regulars with a stamp and add stamps by hand for those close to a reward.
  3. Put the Fidelia QR stand next to the terminal and ask at payment, “Do you have our card?”
  4. Stop the SumUp programme from your dashboard once most regulars have moved over.

More comparisons: Fidelia vs Zerosix, Fidelia vs Goodly, or the Belgian homepage.

Questions

Is SumUp's loyalty programme really free?

SumUp states the programme is free, set up from the SumUp dashboard. Fidelia is paid: Essential is €29 and Pro is €59 a month excl. VAT, with a 14-day Pro trial.

Do customers need an app with SumUp Local?

Yes. Customers download the SumUp Local app and add their bank card, and points or stamps credit at each payment. Fidelia customers add a card to Apple Wallet or Google Wallet by scanning a QR code.

Does Fidelia need a card payment to give a stamp?

No. Staff scan the customer's card at the counter, whatever the payment method, and nothing connects to your till.

Can SumUp Local send messages?

SumUp lists an automatic notification on each earn and birthday, new-member and win-back messages. Fidelia sends push notifications to the Wallet card in Pro, and e-mails; it has no birthday rewards yet.

Can I use both?

Nothing stops a shop from running both, but two cards at the counter confuse customers. Most shops pick one and tell regulars which.

Sources

  1. SumUp: loyalty programme (free, points or stamps, SumUp Local app, bank card, messages, stats), checked 25 October 2026
  2. Fidelia: pricing, checked 25 October 2026

Your first stamp, tomorrow morning.

Set it up tonight. Cancel online any time.

Already have an account? Log in